The things that I shouldn’t have bought in May.

Happy Sunday, y’all! I’ve been terribly behind on my reading, because I started a new job, and there isn’t really a lot of down time to read except for my lunch break, and even then, I find myself actually talking with my co-workers. I know I can just read when I get home, but that’s not till ike 7pm, and by then, my mind is just too tired, to pick up a book, and read it, and I can’t believe I even said that sentence.

But, hopefully, next week, I’ll have a good reading schedule down, because my schedule will be pretty consistent, so hopefully that will mean, a consistent blogging schedule? Maybe one day? One can only hope.

Today, I will be talking about all the books that I brought, and the ones that I checked out from the library, and that I will be planning to read next month:

1. Of Fire and Stars by  Audrey Coulthurst

This book has been on my want to read list since book-tuber, Emmabooks, mentioned it on her youtube channel.

This story follows the main character, Princess Dennaleia, who since childhood, has been arranged to marry, prince of Mynaria, in order to form an alliance between the two kingdoms.

Dennaleia, also has a secret affinity for fire, in a place, where magic is forbidden, and not only must she adjust to a new kingdom’s lifestyle, but she must try to hide and contain her magic. However, after an assassination takes place in the kingdom, she finds an unlikely friend, in the strangest of people, and together they find the person responsible for it.

2. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This is another book that many booktubers have read that just sound super interesting. Blue Sargent is our main character, and he will go visit the dead with his clairvoyant mother, and Blue is unable to see them- until she one comes out from the dark, and she’s able to see them for the first time.

HIs name is Gansey, and he goes to the local rich private school, and Blue just doesn’t know why she is drawn to him, because it’s breaking her number one rule, which is not to associate with these boys, because they are trouble.

Gansey is on a mention with his fellow Raven boys, Adam, Ronan, and Noah, and Blue draws closer to each one of them. It has been prophesized that Blue will be the one to cause her true love to die. She never believed that true love existed, so she didn’t worry about this being a reality until she fell in love with Gansey.

3. Eleanor and Park By  Rainbow Rowell

If anyone has ever been in love for the first time, this book will take you back to those days. This story follows Eleanor and Park, who know, first loves don’t always last, but that doesn’t stop them from trying.

4. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

 City of Bones is a re-read, I’ve read the mortal instrument series before, but as I was watching the tv-show, Shadowhunters, I realized how much, I missed this world, and longed to be back in it. So, here I am.

This story follows our main character Clary, who realizes on her eighteenth birthday, that she is a shadowhunter. Shadowhunters are part human, part angel, and they protect the human race, from the shadowhunters. Clary’s mother, erased her memories every year, for the past ten years, until one year, the shadowhunter world, kidnapped, Jocelyn, and Clary has to learn about her true past, from strangers, whom become family to her, and help her get her mom back.

5. Eliza And Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

This was given to me and the OwlCrate subscription box. For those of you who don’t know what OwlCrate is, I pay 36$ a month, and they send me bookish goodies. Each box, comes with a popular Young Adult book, and a few exclusive book items, such a decor, to go along with each month’s theme.

This month’s book was, Eliza And Her Monsters, and I can’t wait to read it, because it reminds me a lot of fangirl, which I devoured in a day. But, I just relate to these characters, because in their real life they have anxieties, and they are super shy, and I’m the same way. But, online, they are super popular, and have friends.

Eliza spends her time writing a webcomic called Monstrous sea, and doesn’t believe anybody really reads, at least with a thousand mile radius, until her biggest transfers to her school.  She begins to wonder if she really is hiding from her world-behind her labtop, but then, just as her identity is revealed, everything that she worked so hard to build, starts to unravel before her very eyes.

6.  Six of Crows  by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows is another book that I found out from booktube, and it’s been on my TBR list for a while now.

This just sounds like one of those books series that I would enjoy, because you have your renagged team, that’s trying to break into the Ice Court, and the odds, are against them, but they do it anyways, because they have faith that they can. It just seems like a great enjoyable book, and the writing sounds amazing.

7. Tale as Old As Time  by Elizabeth J. Braswell

I saw this book in the bookstore, and I just thought that I needed it, because beauty and the beast is my favorite fairy tale. But, even then, it was a while before I got my hands on it. On the cover and the back of the book it says, What if Belle’s mother cursed the Beast? That’s enough for curious minds to wonder, what if that actually happened?

The sleeve on the inside says: Belle is  alot of things: smart, resourceful, restless. She longs to escape her poor provincial town for good. She wants to explore the world, despite her father’s relunctance to leave their little cottage incase Belle’s mother returns- a mother she barely remembers. Belle also happens to be the captive of a terrifying, angry beast. And that is her primary concern.

            But when Belle touches the Beast’s enchanted rose, intriguing images flood her mind-images of the mother she believed she would never see again. Stranger still, she sees that her mother is none other than the beautiful Enchantress who cursed the Beast, his castle, and all its inhabitants. Shocked and confused, Belle and the Beast must work together to unravel a dark mystery about their families that is twenty-one years in the making.

 

So, those are the books that I really plan to read in the month of June. I can’t wait to get started with these, because of these, I’ve been anticipating them for a while, but I’ve been waiting for a good time to buy them, or waiting for them to come from the library, and now I finally have them.

       

 

Leave a Reply

