13 Reasons Why Book Review

I finished, 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher,  about a week ago, and I haven’t written a review about it yet, because I had a lot of mixed feelings about it, because I didn’t enjoy it. Trust me, I wanted to so badly, and was so angry at myself, because I didn’t.

I just think this book was overhyped, to the max, like, I respect the author for trying to write about suicide and rape, because they are important topic to me, because I’ve been suicidal, and my best friend was at one point, so I know how it feels.

For those of you that don’t know what Thirteen Reasons Why is about, here is the Goodreads synopsis: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

      On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

     Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

I ended up rating this book 3 out of 5 stars, because I did fly through this book, but, mainly because I wanted to get to the end, so I knew what happened, but also, because the only character I could identify with in this book was Clay, and I knew that, but seeing him, literally not do anything, it was like a wake- up call to me personally, because people don’t get mad at me, because I speak up, but, because I don’t speak up, which I think is a huge theme throughout this book. But, Clay was the reason, that I stuck with the book, all the way till the end.

 

I just had so many issues with this book like the writing seemed really simple, and then it was confusing, because we were listening to these tapes, and then, Clay was imagining things in his head, so we had to determine what was actually happen, vs. what Clay was imagining, and it wasn’t entirely clear, on which one was which. So, the plot just seemed very confusing for me.

I also just didn’t care about any of the characters. Clay was my favorite, yes, but I still didn’t care about him a lot, I could just find him the most relatable person.

However, I do still respect the author for the topics, that she tries to address, I just don’t believe that that it was the right story to do that. Because, one of the main themes is about not speaking out, and the consequences that could have, but most people get wrapped up in the Hannah of it all, that they forget about Clay’s importance in the story.

I’m still unsure how I feel about the tapes. I think it would be better, if she tried to use it, as a therapeutic way, to deal with her pain, and not to just leave a long suicide note. I think if I had to pick, I would rather have a note, then have 13 tapes to listen to, because it would probably take someone a long time to get over it.

I think the ending was my favorite part, because that’s when Clay was deciding to do something, by noticing sky’s behavior was similar to Hannah’s, only this time, his behaviors would be different, and for someone like Clay, that’s a huge deal, even if it’s just saying hi, like he did.

Leave a Reply

