Carry On By Rainbow Rowell

images.jpeg

I just finished reading Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, and it was satisfying. Carry On is based on fictional characters mentioned in the novel Fangirl by the Rainbow Rowell. In Fangirl, we see the original author’s take on it, and then we see Cath’s take on the characters mentioned in the series, and now we get to see Rainbow Rowell’s. It’s also satisfying, because for those that love Harry Potter, this will be like Harry Potter fan fiction, but it’s still gonna leave you epically satisfying. These characters became such a big part of my heart, I can understand why Cath, and Rainbow Rowell, felt safe with them, and wanted to keep writing about them. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars, because I didn’t read it one day, but I did cry a lot and the twists were so epic that you didn’t know who to trust, or what to do is expect to keep reading, and Rainbow Rowell’s writing is just so beautiful.

For those of you that don’t know what Carry On is about here is the synopsis that I always steal from Goodreads:

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here — it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magical, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On – The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.

         I didn’t bold this one because I felt they already made the important parts known, and if you haven’t read this book, you should leave now, because I’m gonna talk about some spoilers things, because I have a lot of feelings about this book, because of the reveals, and how everything and everyone is naturally connected.

So,  let’s start with the world, and the history that we learned throughout the story of Carry On. The history is very Harry Potterish, except that there are a few more of the old families, and they all believe, that Simon and the Mage are the bad guys. They have been fighting a war with them for the past 7 years against Simon and the Mage, and then with them, against the Humdrum.

The most important thing we can learn from this is that your history matters, and you need to be properly educated, and that’s how problems, gets solved, so the same mistakes aren’t made, because the characters were constantly doing research or asking their parents information about people that they didn’t know.

I loved the way that she expressed how important language is through the novel, the spells weren’t complex, they were simple, like popular phrases throughout our lives, or nursery rhymes, but they aren’t always powerful. If those phrases, will die out, then, it loose their magical power, like in the magical families, the more kids that they have, the more their magic, becomes water-downed, and can be lost within the blood line.

I liked how this is one of the one books, that the war didn’t seem to be with the muggles, or the normals, but it was a battle within their world, how each magician dealt with their own magic personally, or if your like Simon, you just tried not to blow everything up in your path.

Speaking of Simon….

He reminded me so much of Harry, and I felt an instant connection to him, and I just wanted to take him away to safety and hold on, and rock him, and tell him everything will be okay, and then when him and Baz got together, I was like “YES, FINALLY!” Because, you saw them, actually work together, and then their connection grew, and then you saw how Simon could tap him to Baz, and give him power, when they fought that dragon. You just knew that Penelope secretly shipped them, because she didn’t question it to Simon, she didn’t say, “Simon, what the hell are you doing with your life?”

Only Agatha did that, but I didn’t really care for her, like, I understood her, and her character, but I just  thought she was annoying, and I was honestly glad when she ran to California, because I didn’t want her to die, but I didn’t want to read about her anymore. She just felt so in the way, and wasn’t really helpful to the group like everyone else was.

I loved Penelope and I loved how she didn’t care that nobody really liked her, because she didn’t like anyone except for Simon, and Baz, and her boyfriend. She really reminded me of Hermione, but I liked how she wasn’t the smartest person in the class, because that would just be too similar to Hermione, and I think she was more willing to break the rules than Hermione was, because she snuck into Simon’s room all the time, with the risk of being expelled, and carried a mobile device, because her mom wanted her to, even though it was against the rule, and was even friends with Simon, despite her parents wishes.

I do think Baz was my favorite character, he was just as sassy as Penelope and I love their mutually respect for each other, and constant bickering. I was so happy though that they didn’t have this epic battle between him, and Simon, and that only one of them would live through it, and I just wanted to lock them both in their room, and throw away the key.

But, I do like the way it was resolved, it was so satisfying, we found out how Simon was conceived through the ritual and why he’s so powerful, we found out that the humdrum, was a part of him, and that he went away, once the humdrum was full of Simon’s magic, that he wanted to let go of, and therefore, there will no longer be a power struggle between the mage, and the families, because the mage is dead, but there is no reason for Simon to be a danger now, and everyone just has a happy end except for Babb, and I’m pretty sure,I misspelled her name. I was so sad that she died, and that she was part of the collaterall damage, but she was suffering, from such painful memories, of the past, I think she is finally at peace.

All in All, I really did love this book, I loved the world building, and the different rules, and the theories about magic, and how they were just putting the pieces together as they go, and I just love Rainbow Rowell’s writing.

Next week: I will be reviewing History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera.

images-1.jpeg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

