Book Review for Library of Souls

Here is the spoiler free synopsis of Library of Souls that I stole from goodreads:

A boy with extraordinary powers. An army of deadly monsters. An epic battle for the future of Peculiardom.

The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

          They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience. 

My personal review was a 4 out of my five stars, mainly because I felt like this book lagged compared to the second book which was non-stop action all the time. It really didn’t start to pick up for me, until about halfway through it. However, that is my only complaint about it. I would’ve also liked to hear more about the loops, and the way that the concept of time worked in the loops, because I felt like it wasn’t completely consistent.

This series in a way is peculiar from most popular young adult books. Every character is different, and the author Ranson Riggs continues to use pictures of ordinary people to help shape this world he has created called peculiardom. He doesn’t just use any old picture, he uses the one that helps shape his story. But, it is a nice tribute to those who aren’t famous, that are now not as forgotten, as they were before.

Jacob Portman is only 16 years old, but has to go through such an ordeal, that most adults couldn’t handle, and he handles it with such grace, and integrity, Jacob is a hero to everyone, and I think him and Emma are so cute together, even if she is as old as dirt.

Now, I will jump into my spoiler section part of the review, so if you haven’t not read it yet, then go read this beautiful book and then come back, so we can discuss this amazing work of art.

 

I personally loved the way the story unfolded, and how the more the characters found out about the world, the more we found out about the world, as far as the history of it.  think that the struggle between Miss Peregrine and her brothers were really relatable. I think it was really important that Miss Peregerine mentioned how she wondered whether her influence had anything to do with how her brothers turned out to be, because anyone that has a sibling, knows they impact more than anyone in life, I think. They are either our biggest role-models, or our rivals, in my opinion  I think it was interesting that Jacob was able to realize that maybe he didn’t understand why Miss Peregrine blamed herself, because he didn’t have any siblings, and he didn’t fully understand.

 

However, I was pleased, that Miss Peregerine was strong enough to do the right thing, and collapse the loop that imprisoned the  brothers, forever.  because she did what any leader would do, and that has been who she is throughout the series. So, I think it showed how truly strong she was, and how much she cared for peculiardom, and the children.

I wasn’t surprised that Jacob fell in love with Emma. Jacob was very similar to his grandfather. His manners were the same, the way people viewed him, his family and the peculiars were the same. He had the same power, so it was only natural that he fell in love with the same girl. I also liked how we saw how torn he was between going back to his world, and leaving Emma, or staying with her. It’s never an easy decision to leave the people you love, and I think that struggle was really beautiful to read.

I think that Emma was my favorite peculiar, though. She was only the only one that I honestly wanted to know more about, and I think she’s the one that had the most character development besides Jacob. I was so satisfied with the ending, and that she came to save Jacob from the loony bin, and that they can actually be a somewhat normal couple. I’m glad that they are both able to be happy together.

All in all, I was very satisfied with this series, and I think that this is a great and powerful read, that will change your life forever, and it will show you that sometimes, being peculiar is being extraordinary. It just depends on how you look at it.

Leave a Reply

